stand off

I am currently decluttering my RedBubble Portfolio, to make way for more recent art that best represents who I am now, as well as to make it easier for customers to navigate the available products for sale. As a result I will be sharing some of my old creative writings here on WordPress, as a way of preserving them. In several cases my mind, opinions, beliefs, values and overall understanding of life have changed since the time I wrote these pieces, but I still feel that they are personally valuable reminders of the various stages of my life journey thus far.

This piece of writing was first posted at my RedBubble Creative Writing Portfolio.

Date of original post: 22 November 2010

Total views, at 2 May 2016:

Stand Off? A lament on distance and separation

Two figures standing face to face but separate.
A drift of dandelion seeds stirring in the space between us.
The light here is pale green diffused by a thick canopy of summer leaves.
Where to go from here?
There are no boundaries, no limits
to the many escape routes –
But I don’t want to escape.
Who is the hunter, the hunted?
The roles seem fluid, malleable, transferrable.
The distance is short, but seems eternal.
Cannot move closer:
The fear is overwhelming.
And were I to run, would you chase me?
If I turned and fled to the cover of the forest
Would you follow me?
Or would you abandon me to the elements?

 

