My swamp

I am currently decluttering my RedBubble Portfolio, to make way for more recent art that best represents who I am now, as well as to make it easier for customers to navigate the available products for sale. As a result I will be sharing some of my old creative writings here on WordPress, as a way of preserving them. In several cases my mind, opinions, beliefs, values and overall understanding of life have changed since the time I wrote these pieces, but I still feel that they are personally valuable reminders of the various stages of my life journey thus far.

As I wrote on the original piece here, swamps are a powerful symbol or archetype for me, and a theme to which I continually return… as long-time readers and followers of my blogs and art sites will know.

This piece of writing was first posted at my RedBubble Creative Writing Portfolio.

Date of original post: 24 November 2010

Total views, at 2 May 2016: 277

My Swamp; Or, a moment of paranoia

It’s lonely here in the swamp.
Only frogs and waterbirds for company
and it’s not like they can talk with me.
What does a duck think about, anyway?
I could stand in the murky depths all day
until my skin is stained with dirt.
Still it seems to me that they’re better company than humans.
People are hurtful, painful, messy.
Full of horrors.
They plot the many ways they will hurt me.
Here among the snakes and fish and mosquitoes,
the creatures, they do not plot and plan and invent ways of evil.
They exist, they act, they behave according to their ways,
but they are not man that they should seek to harm or destroy.
And so I cloister myself in nature’s monastery,
in the solemn solitude and darkness of the waters and the trees
and meditate on that which drove me here.

 

