convincing myself I can wait

I am currently decluttering my RedBubble Portfolio, to make way for more recent art that best represents who I am now, as well as to make it easier for customers to navigate the available products for sale. As a result I will be sharing some of my old creative writings here on WordPress, as a way of preserving them. In several cases my mind, opinions, beliefs, values and overall understanding of life have changed since the time I wrote these pieces, but I still feel that they are personally valuable reminders of the various stages of my life journey thus far.

This piece of writing was first posted at my RedBubble Creative Writing Portfolio.

Date of original post: 13 December 2010

Total views, at 2 May 2016: 274

Convincing Myself: I Can Wait

In the long lonely months of solitude
In the broken scattered sunlight breaking through the tangled dead canopy
Watching the years fade into dim memory with no shift in the routine
I must wait.

If I try to claw my path through the tangled woods
If I try to escape the confinement here
Where would I go, I could not return to you, I would only destroy you.
I must bide my time.

Were there a chance to meet you here
When in meeting I could stand my ground and look you in the eye
And no longer desire to devour you
Then I would seek you out and find you.

I must wait.

If I am here for all eternity awaiting a time when we will be made new
And there will be no divisions, no secrets, no barriers
Then that is what I must do.
The isolation hurts
but it is the only choice.

I will wait. I can wait.
I will hide here for as long as it takes.
I must wait.

 

