I was evidently on a roll when it came to writing short reflective prose in 2010

I am currently decluttering my RedBubble Portfolio, to make way for more recent art that best represents who I am now, as well as to make it easier for customers to navigate the available products for sale. As a result I will be sharing some of my old creative writings here on WordPress, as a way of preserving them. In several cases my mind, opinions, beliefs, values and overall understanding of life have changed since the time I wrote these pieces, but I still feel that they are personally valuable reminders of the various stages of my life journey thus far.

This piece of writing was first posted at my RedBubble Creative Writing Portfolio.

Date of original post: 19 October 2010

Total views, at 2 May 2016: 256

Imaginary Musings On Companionable Immersion In Nature

Tuesday, 19 October 2010

In the quiet peace of an isolated hillside, as sunset fades and the stars blink into view,
I lie still in the grass and watch the sky.
It is a clear view, framed by the bare branches of a withered oak. The stars flicker, silver and some red, against the deep blue of the night sky.
The caress of the breeze plays on my skin.
The air is cool, but the earth is warm from the day.
Feel the crumbling damp soil, the insects crawling on my bare arms.
In the dim light the ache leaves my eyes.
I wonder if I could immerse myself in the living dirt and the leaves and decay.

You are there, too. You see the same stars, feel the same jasmine-scented breeze.
The insects flitter and land on your skin.
I can hear you breathe, hear you moving slightly in the grass.
We wait. There are no words that need to pass between us.
It is enough to be. To be still here.

 

