Lamentations of a bored woman

I am currently decluttering my RedBubble Portfolio, to make way for more recent art that best represents who I am now, as well as to make it easier for customers to navigate the available products for sale. As a result I will be sharing some of my old creative writings here on WordPress, as a way of preserving them. In several cases my mind, opinions, beliefs, values and overall understanding of life have changed since the time I wrote these pieces, but I still feel that they are personally valuable reminders of the various stages of my life journey thus far.

This piece of writing was first posted at my RedBubble Creative Writing Portfolio.

Date of original post: 1 November 2010

Total views, at 2 May 2016: 250

 

Lamentations of a bored woman

The girl sits in the shade and doesn’t let the sun burn her pale skin.
She sips tea and reads novels and plants flowers.
She wears the modest clothes and always remembers to say “please” and “thank you”.
She allows no vile thing before her eyes and her mind is clean and new.
She waits patiently in queues and smiles even when she’s sad.
The flowers bloom all around her and the birds sing happy songs.

One day, she tires of this.

She sits in the sun and burns.
She drinks some wine and reads a trashy magazine and ignores the garden.
She throws on a skimpy outfit and decides to be rude for once.
She starts to wonder what different men looks like under their clothes.
She huffs and gets angry when she’s made to wait.
The flowers aren’t even noticed anymore.

Then that grows boring, too.
Where to from here?

 

