NaPoWriMo 2016

napofeature4

Image Source: NaPoWriMo

Welllll, in a bit of a spur-of-the-moment decision, I have again signed up for NaPoWriMo – National Poetry Writing Month. Or, as those of us outside the USA sometimes call it, IntPoWriMo (International Poetry Writing Month). It’s a poem-a-day writing exercise for the entire month of April. Will I manage to post a daily poem? Perhaps, but most likely not. That’s despite the best of intentions. I know from prior experience that I usually don’t manage it. Writing an entire poem on a daily basis is, in many ways, far more difficult than writing prose. I have been far more consistently successful at NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) than NaPoWriMo in previous years. Oh well.

I am also admittedly terrible at poetry for many reasons. In addition to that, I find that far too often the people in my real-life circle tend to (mistakenly) assume that my first-person poetry is autobiographical. I want to challenge that upfront and say that when I do write my prose-poetry it is not necessarily a personal, autobiographical expression, but rather an imaginative fiction that I compose in response to a need for creativity in my life.

Am I any good at writing poetry?

In a word, no.

However, the point of NaPoWriMo for me is to just give it a try. So here goes.

***

If you’re participating in 2016’s NaPoWriMo or Camp NaNoWriMo, let me know in the comments below! What is your preferred style of poetry writing and reading? Who are your poetic influences? I’d love to hear from you! 

