Aussie stuff

image

Map source: GeoScience Australia

 

As those of you who’ve read my “About” page would know, I hail from south-eastern mainland Australia. I see that the vast majority of my followers are from different parts of the world, so I thought I’d put it out there: have you got any questions about Aussie culture or nature you wanted to ask? I love learning about other people’s cultures and traditions and languages. I won’t say I’m an expert but I’d love to hear from any Australiana-curious readers.

For example:

Q “Don’t you just love blooming onions?”

A “You’re an American, aren’t you?”

[no, we don’t eat ‘blooming onions’ in Australia]

Or:

Q “I’m going to Australia soon and I’ve been warned about drop bears. My friends weren’t serious, were they?”

A “Drop bears are deadly serious.”

Okay, so I’ll actually try to give more helpful answers than that. Comments will automatically close soon so feel free to throw your Aussie questions at me. [Not to be taken as medical or legal or tourism advice, of course!] If I get enough questions I’ll write them up as separate posts.

