Scenes from this year’s reading pile: Faith Unraveled

I have long enjoyed Evangelical-turned-Episcopalian Rachel Held Evans’s blog, so it was about time I actually sat down to read one of her books. Faith Unraveled was interesting for me, apart from the shock at how so confident and measured a writer could be so young (she was, I think, in her 20s when she had this published – and here I am in my 30s, nowhere near literary success – oh, the shame!). What I found relatable was this notion that there comes a point when Christian apologetics falls short. Ten years ago I was a rabid apologetics nerd – not that I’m saying all apologetics fanatics are nerdy or rabid. But I was. I was crazy. It didn’t matter what the question was, I was ready to give a defence for my new-found faith. But then real life happens. And the theoretical concepts and philosophical quibbling, while much of it was useful for a time, just wasn’t enough to maintain a lifelong faith.

Where I couldn’t relate was this idea of growing up in such an intensely Christian environment. I sort of wonder if that’s a unique aspect of American Christianity, because I definitely read those sections as an outsider. We Aussies, it would seem, have a rather different relationship to religion and society. (We’d also spell it “Unravelled” but that’s a different discussion altogether.)

Overall I enjoyed this book, and I hope to read more of her books as soon as I can.

 

20150531-IMG_3836

My kindle edition of Faith Unraveled.

