Arabian Stallion

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Description from my original blog post

This is a quick sketch I did with pen and pencil. It was inspired when reading about Asil-type purebred Arabian horses. They are beautiful creatures, and I was particularly taken with the fine yet strong physique, the tapered muzzle, the straight legs and alert ears.

This detail is photographed from a larger drawing, but I felt that the overall portrait did not do justice to the beautifully conformed creature I was trying to represent. So I have only shown the detail of the face here.

Horses never cease to amaze me with their beauty, their strength, their versatility, their intelligence… and all the other amazing qualities that have seen them as close companions of humans.

Originally posted on A Humble Art Folio, 3 November 2006.

[Prints of my drawings, paintings and photography are sometimes available for sale at RedBubble. Thank you in advance to anyone able to support grassroots outsider artists!]

