NaNoWriMo 2014 – Day 18

 

I’m doing okay on the writing today. I’ve found – once again – that Scrivener’s format works very well for me. I don’t write my story in strictly chronological order. In fact, I jump all over the place. So it helps me to be able to keep a track of where my different story sections are. Shifting the files over to Scrivener, and a hefty dose of music by the Irish choral group Anúna, seems to have resparked my imagination. Now all I have to do is try to write 3,000 words a day for the next fortnight and I might actually finish this thing!

While I am way below par for my word count, I haven’t given up yet. This story has life in it, yet, and the characters need to have their narratives and questions resolved before I can move on. At this point in the story, my protagonist – a young woman who lost her entire family in a plague of monsters some ten years earlier – has just admitted for the first time that she hates them for leaving her behind. I’m much happier with that than with the worrying element where it seems a romantic subplot is developing without me having given it express permission to do so. Let’s face it, this cold hearted cynic isn’t too good at “romance.” (Though I might be mixing up “cold hearted cynic” with being a Myers-Briggs ISTP personality type – apparently I do have the capacity for feelings, they just take a very long time to get to the surface. I can live vicariously through my stories, I guess.)

 

IMG_0195

