Liebster Award

Thank you, Phoenix Grey for nominating me for the “Liebster Award.”

I don’t do this sort of thing too often but according to the list I read, the nomination entails the following tasks:

  • Post the award on my blog
  • Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog
  • Write 11 random facts about myself
  • Nominate 11 bloggers who I feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers
  • Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask my nominees 11 questions.

Now, to be honest, I don’t think I’d be able to think of 11 bloggers I feel deserve nomination – I would no doubt miss some people. But if I can draw your attention to the links page on Streams & Desolations you’ll see a list of the blogs I currently read the most. It’s an incomplete list, at this stage, but I hope to add more in time. And please go look at Middle England Earth Art.

My 11 facts:

  1. I am several generations Australian…
  2. …and I would normally speak with a Strine/Ocker accent but I’ve learned that if I do that my mostly migrant and 2nd generation migrant middle-class suburban friends often can’t understand me!
  3. My accent comes back if I spend time (toime) with my family (mi fam’ly). [*The italicised words are phonetic representations of Australian English (Strayan Ing-lsh).]
  4. I am adamant that most questions in life can be managed with a trip to the library.
  5. My taste in music could be summarised into two categories: classical and metal. (And anything that fuses the two genres.)
  6. I am fascinated with the ancient Celtic and Norse cultures – I feel like studying them opens up my understanding of who I am and where my place is in the world because they’re the cultures of my ancestors. (I hasten to add here that unfortunately a love for Norse history is sometimes associated with racist beliefs. Let me assure my readers that I loathe racism – and I hope that in my thoughts, words and actions I will respectfully engage with people no matter their cultural heritage.)
  7. My university degrees are in the field of Arts (Sociology). I find it an endlessly fascinating way to investigate the world.
  8. I am frustrated that I live in a nation that thinks the Arts and Humanities are a useless form of education or career. Never mind that the Arts touch our lives in myriad forms and that a world without art and creativity and thoughtful interactions would be a bleak world, indeed.
  9. I love animals and the environment. When I logically extrapolated this love into praxis I became a vegetarian.
  10. I consider myself to be a spiritual person. Even in my most sceptical moments I have still had a spiritual leaning I just could not shake. My spirituality has taken me on a huge journey to the point where I don’t know how to describe it.
  11. It was never a deliberate choice but one day I woke up and realised that most of the music I listen to is Finnish. I can’t even begin to explain that.

11 Questions:

  1. Why did you start blogging?

Long story. I have always been one of these social activist-types. But I am not good at face-to-face confrontational situations (introvert problems!). However, I have been told that I’m good at writing. I was at university when some friends there introduced me to geocities (that probably gives away my age!) and soon I had an eclectic animals and environment and feminism website up and running.

Fast forward five years and I was a lonely, bored stay at home parent living in a new suburb and attending a new church. People would refer to me as a mum and nothing more. I lost count of the times I was told, “You’re a good mum,” which is totally nice… except for the fact that before I got married and had children people would tell me, “You’re a great artist / writer / advocate for social issues,” things like that. Before motherhood I was a top student in my course, gaining high marks, being invited to join the honours society, and told by my teachers that I had a lot of academic potential. I wanted to show these new friends that I wasn’t just a mum, that I was a human with hopes and dreams and abilities beyond my reality and role as a very young parent. So I started a blogspot blog where I shared my paintings and drawings to show my friends that I wasn’t going to allow my “breeding status” (so to speak) to define the limitations of my reality.

Why do I still blog, eight years later? Because it gives me a voice, of sorts. It enables me to write things that are meaningful, and hopefully share it with an audience that wants to read it (rather than causing my facebook friends to drown in unwanted references to my radical political views…).

  1. What is your happiest memory from this past year?

Probably the day that I walked into the cat shelter and a tiny champagne ginger kitten, when he saw me, stood on top of his sleeping littermates, pressed himself against the wire cage and started yelling something that sounded distinctly like, “Me! Me!” A week later I signed the adoption papers and the boldest, most fearless kitten I’d encountered in a long time became my newest baby. We named him Odin because he’s like a brave Viking warrior.

  1. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Finland, I guess, so I can see with my own eyes what it is about that nation that makes it such a good source of music. Ukraine, so I could see the land of my children’s heritage (on their father’s side). Scotland and Ireland, so I could see where my ancestors came from. That said, I’m content to keep exploring my own beautiful homeland of Australia.

  1. If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Vegan stir fry noodles of some description.

  1. What is the one thing that you cannot leave the house without?

My glasses.

  1. Have you ever been told that you look like a celebrity? If so, which one?

When I was 16 I was told I looked like Christina Ricci. When I was 18 I was told I looked like Rayna, the bassist from Coal Chamber. Nowadays I don’t hear that at all. Celebrities tend to be better dressed.

  1. What is your dream job?

To be an author, or an academic in a university, or working in some sort of creative arts, or an organic farmer.

  1. If you could be any fictional character, who would it be and why?

I’d be some sort of Jedi or Sith in Star Wars because since the age of 12 years nothing else has ever really captured my imagination the way Star Wars has (though Harry Potter and The Vampire Chronicles come close).

  1. What would your superpower be?

To be a Force sensitive, so that I could fulfil point 8, see above.

10. What do you miss most about being a kid?

The ability to hope that one day the future would bring the fulfilment of dreams.

11. What would the title of your autobiography be?

“The Cat Whisperer.”liebster-award

