Waiting for inspiration

Sometimes the inspiration won’t come, so I have to position myself to “receive” it. I’ve found that when I’m stuck, the best thing I can do is get outdoors, away from computer screens and the distracting bounty of the food pantry, and start scribbling in a notebook. Sometimes I’ll draw. Sometimes I’ll start describing the scenery around me: what birds can I hear, what flowers can I see, what is the weather doing, and what sort of people are here? Occasionally this method will help me find a phrase or setting that inspires me to explore further whatever story wants to be told.

IMG_9572.JPG
And sometimes doing some housework helps remove the mental clutter. Though today my furry “helper” decided that he would lie on top of the pile of just-folded clothes. That’s not so helpful!

IMG_9585.JPG

