My writing space

The NaNoWriMo Facebook page recently asked people to share photos of their writing space. In that spirit, I thought I’d share some photos of my writing space here.

If any of the readers here were following my old blog “Sunrise Over Swamps” last year then you would’ve read about my many NaNoWriMo woes. I was living in a very noisy neighbourhood with some difficult (to put it nicely) neighbours generating a lot of stress. There was a lot of negativity going on and it was very difficult to write in the midst of the sound of nearby house demolitions, endless screaming matches from other neighbours, and the stench of termite sprays, not to mention some other family stresses at the time.

As I took photos to share here earlier today I realised how much better things are now. We lived in that difficult house for nine years in all, and there was so much stress that went into that stage of our lives that I was happy to leave it behind. So, I am feeling quite grateful right now as I look at how things have changed by something as simple as moving to a new neighbourhood, and making some big decisions to ensure that healthy change could happen.

2014-10-22 at 16-01-43

My writing space

I’ll be writing here, from my couch, mostly on my HP lap top (I’ve upgraded from the Eee PC I was using last year) but also using Scrivener on my Mac computer.

It’s not clear from the photo, but I have a nice view of the front garden. Our landlords have planted many flowers here, and we’ve added a number of our own. Our first seven months living here has revealed all sorts of flowers springing up as the seasons progress. Here’s what’s flowering today (October, which is mid-spring in Melbourne, Australia) in the front yard.

2014-10-22 at 15-54-04

2014-10-22 at 15-54-30

2014-10-22 at 15-54-51

2014-10-22 at 15-54-08

Another thing that is different this year is that I have two cats now, after a decade of lack in the companion animals department. These guys, probably more than anything else I can imagine, make my house feel like a home (apart from it being, say, the place where all my stuff is).

Riker, my writing helper [shown here trying to kill the camera]

Riker, my writing helper [shown here trying to kill the camera] – 22 October 2014

My writing is in large part fuelled by hot drinks – coffees and herbal tisanes and green teas, for the most part. My coffee mugs will be my constant companions during nano month – along with my computer and notebook.

2014-10-22 at 15-58-14

My YOLNT coffee mug from Typo

